Style Switcher

Text Resize

Chief Justice & Judges

 Mr Justice  Ajay Kumar Mittal

Hon'ble Mr Justice Ajay Kumar Mittal, Chief Justice, High Court of Meghalaya

        Born on September 30, 1958 at Chandigarh, his Lordship passed B.Com. (Hons.) from Sri Ram College of Commerce, Delhi University in the year 1977 and completed his LL.B. from Faculty of Law, Delhi University in 1980. In the same year, his Lordship was enrolled as an Advocate with Bar Council of Punjab and Haryana and started practice in the High Court of Punjab and Haryana in July 1980. His Lordship practised in Civil Law, Revenue Law, Writ Side in all branches of law including Constitutional Law, Service Law, Company Law, Tax Laws i.e. Income-tax, Wealth Tax, Sales Tax, Excise and Customs laws. His Lordship worked for the Department of Income Tax in the Punjab and Haryana High Court from 1982 and continued as such upto 1991. His Lordship belongs to a family of distinguished lawyers and is a grandson of Shri Shamair Chand, Barrister-at-Law of Lahore/Chandigarh. His Lordship was elevated to the Bench of High Court of Punjab and Haryana on January 9, 2004. His Lordship had functioned as Acting Chief Justice of the High Court of Punjab and Haryana between 4th May 2018 and 2nd June 2018 besides also functioning as Executive Chairman of the Haryana State Legal Services Authority for more than 3 (three) years. His Lordship's hobbies are walking, driving, touring and reading newspapers, laws books in particular on the subject of Tax-Laws. His Lordship also has an interest in visiting religious/tourist places of national fame. That apart, his Lordship is a good player of table tennis and badminton and is also fond of gardening. His Lordship was sworn in as Hon’ble the Chief Justice of High Court of Meghalaya on 28th May 2019.

 Mr Justice  Hamarsan Singh Thangkhiew

Hon'ble Mr Justice Hamarsan Singh Thangkhiew, Judge, High Court of Meghalaya

        Born on 24th December 1966 at Shillong in the State of Meghalaya, his Lordship took oath as Judge of the High Court of Meghalaya on 19th November 2018. His Lordship completed his initial schooling and college from St. Edmund’s College, Shillong; and thereafter, after attaining his LLB Degree from Delhi University in 1990, his Lordship was enrolled as an Advocate with the Bar Council of Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh in 1990-1991.

       His Lordship’s area of practice included civil, constitutional, customary and company law. His Lordship’s interest also included pro bono work for indigent persons apart from mediation activities under the auspices of Meghalaya State Legal Services Authority. He was designated Senior Advocate by the Gauhati High Court in August 2010.

        During his practice at the Bar, his Lordship acted as counsel/standing counsel for Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council; Syiem of Mylliem and Durbar; Election Commission of India; Election Department, Govt. of Meghalaya; Meghalaya Urban Development Authority and North Eastern Hill University. His Lordship had also acted as special counsel for the State of Meghalaya in cases pertaining to reservation policy of the State Government and had appeared for Meghalaya Police before the National Human Rights Commission and also before the P.C. Phukan Commission of Enquiry and the Rajkhowa Commission of Enquiry. His Lordship was also a member of the Institutional Ethics Committee of NEIGHRHMS and NEHU.

       Besides, his Lordship was an elected member of the Bar Council of Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim and member of the Meghalaya State Bar Council under Section 58 of Advocates Act, 1961 and the Meghalaya State Law Commission.