Style Switcher

Text Resize

Hon'ble Mr. Justice Uma Nath Singh

Mr. Justice T. Nandakumar Singh

Born on 15.01.1954. Did his graduation from Ewing Christian College, Allahabad and Post Graduation in Political Science and Graduation in Law from the University of Allahabad. Enrolled as an advocate by Bar Council, Delhi on 23rd April, 1982. Registered as an advocate on Record of the Supreme Court of India in March, 1987. Practised in the Supreme Court of India for more than 19 years in all type of cases. Was a panel counsel for Railways, BHEL, MMTC and Union of India. Was senior panel counsel for State of Uttar Pradesh in the Supreme Court of India and for Union of India in Delhi High Court. Worked as Central Govt.

Counsel to handle Bhopal Gas Leak Disaster case. Was advocate on record and standing counsel for State of Madhya Pradesh since October 1988 till elevation to Bench. Was also advocate on record and standing counsel for State of Chattisgarh since December, 2000. Also appeared for Patna High Court and M.P. High Court in their cases before the Supreme Court. Elevated as an Additional Judge in Madhya Pradesh High Court on 22.10.2001. Took oath as a permanent Judge in April, 2002. Was Administrative Judge of Districts : Damoh, Gwalior, Chattarpur, Ratlam, Khandwa and Khargon in Madhya Pradesh. Was Member of Administrative Committee and HJS Selection Committee. Was also High Court's representative Judge to M.P. Public Service commission to interview candidates for selection to the post of Civil Judge. Has experience of working for about one year in each of three Benches of M.P. High Court namely, Jabalpur, Gwalior and Indore. Took oath as a Judge of Punjab & Haryana High Court on 02.12.2004. Was Chairman of Punjab & Haryana High Court Building Committee apart from being Chairman and Member of other committees. Was Administrative Judge of Sonepat, Kuruskhetra, Karnal & Panipat, and Panchkula districts in Haryana, and Jalandhar and Ludhiana districts in Punjab. Took oath as a Judge of Allahabad High Court on 30.06.2009. Was Senior-most Judge-In-charge of Lucknow Seat of Allahabad High Court from February, 2012 to June, 2014 and a member of High Court Administrative Committee. Was Executive Chairman of U. P. State Legal Services Authority. Was Ex-officio Chairman of Local Committee of governors, La martiniere College ( Boys and Girls ), Lucknow. Was a member of Executive Council of King George Medical University, Lucknow and Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidhyapith University, Varanasi. Was Chairman of U.P. Advisory Board (Detention) under National Security Act, 1980, Prevention of Illicit Traffic in Narcotic Drugs & Psychotropic Substances Act, and Conservation of Foreign Exchange & Prevention of Smuggling Activities, (COFEPOSA) Act, 1974. Was Chairman of Committee for appointment of Law Clerks(Trainee) at Lucknow Bench and Competent Authority to grant approval under the provisions of Section 20(v)(b) of Allahabad High Court ( Right to Information) Rules, 2006. Was Chairman of High Court Legal Services Sub-Committee, Lucknow Bench, and Judge Incharge, Judicial Education, Institute of Judicial Training and Research, U.P., Lucknow. Was Administrative Judge of Lucknow, Agra and Barabanki in U.P.. Was Chairman of Committee for grant of super time pay scale to HJS Officers and Committee on premature transfer of judges. Was a member of committee for designation of HJS Officers as District Judge. He has authored a large number of judgments reported and unreported relating to almost all important jurisdictions and branches of law. He took Oath as Judge of High Court of Meghalaya on 27th August, 2014 and appointed as Chief Justice(Acting) w. e. f. the date of assuming his office vide Notification No.K-11019/01/2014-US.I dated 27th August, 2014 issued by Joint Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Law & Justice ( Department of Justice ), New Delhi.Was appointed as Chief Justice of the High Court of Meghalaya vide notification No K-13034/01/2015-US.1 dated 18th March, 2015 issued by Joint Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Law and Justice (Department of Justice) New Delhi and took oath as the Chief Justice of the High Court of Meghalaya on 19th March, 2015. He demitted the Office on 14th January 2016